Globe Primary School

Globe Primary School
Life at Globe Primary School Life at Globe Primary School Life at Globe Primary School Life at Globe Primary School Life at Globe Primary School Life at Globe Primary School Life at Globe Primary School Life at Globe Primary School

Term Dates

Our School Day

Nursery and Reception

The school day starts at 8.55am and finishes at 11. 55am for part time children and

3 05pm for fulltime children. 

Reception children start at 8.55am and finish at 3.05pm.

Years 1 to 6

Children in years 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 start at 8.55am and finish at 3.15pm.

It is essential that parents ensure that children are in the school playground each day by 8.50am so that children have time to say hello to their friends and are on time for class.

Any time after 8.55am is counted as late and marked in the school register as such. 

Morning playtimes

Nursery and Reception children have continual access to the outdoor area throughout the day and there are no designated playtimes.

KS1 (Y1 and 2) have daily playtimes from 10.35am to 10.50am.

KS2 (Y3, Y4, Y5 & Y6) have daily playtimes from 10.50am to 11.05am.

Lunch

Children in Nursery and Reception have their lunch at 11.35am. Those in Y1 and Y2 have lunch at 11.55pm to 12.45pm.  Y3 – Y6 children begin their lunch break at 12. 25pm and end at 1.15pm.

Drop-off and collection

At the beginning and end of the school day, parents are encouraged to be in the playground by 8 50. This helps to build up a close relationship between home and school, we want to have good links with all parents. Parents start off by bringing children into the Nursery and Reception classes and then children go in by themselves in order to foster independence.  In Years One to Six teachers collect children from the playground and take them to the classroom in an orderly line.  We cannot allow parents to come in with classes as the classrooms are situated on the top and middle floor and it would be a safety risk to have so many people on the staircases at this time.

Nursery and Reception classes are collected from the classroom doors at home time.  Years One to Six children are brought to the playground by the teachers.  Children must not be taken from their line or collection point until the teacher says so. 

If normal arrangements have to be altered (e.g. you are delayed or another person is collecting your child), please let us know. This avoids any confusion or upset.  We will not allow anyone to take your child unless we are certain who they are and you must always inform us if someone different is to collect your child.

Getting to school

To get to and from school, walking is definitely the best option! There are lots of benefits: it’s healthier than travelling by car, it improves the safety of pedestrians and road-users, and it respects nearby residents and parking regulations. Alternatively, we have some bike and scooter racks. If you do need to travel by car, please park wisely, not on the double yellow lines and do not drop children off in the middle of the road ad this puts your child and other children at risk.

Term Dates 2018/2019

Autumn Term

Wednesday, 5th September 2018 to Friday, 19th October 2018

Half Term: Monday, 22nd October 2018 to Friday, 26th October 2018

Tuesday, 30th October 2018 to Friday, 21st December 2018

Spring Term

Tuesday, 8th January 2019 to Friday, 15th February 2019

Half Term: Monday, 18th February 2019 to Friday, 22nd February 2019

            Monday, 25th February 2019 to Friday, 5th April 2019             

Summer Term

 Tuesday, 23rd April 2019 to Friday, 24th May 2019

 Half Term: Monday, 27th May 2019 to Friday, 31st May 2019

 Tuesday, 4th June 2019 to Tuesday, 23rd July 2019

 

School Closed for Staff Training (INSET Days)

Monday, 3rd September 2018

Tuesday, 4th September 2018

Monday, 29th October 2018

Monday, 7th January 2019

Monday, 3rd June 2019